Meet the team




Prof. Peter Bruce

Wolfson Chair, MA, DPhil, FRS, FRSE
Director of the UK SUPERGEN Energy Storage Hub
Director of the Wolfson Centre for Energy Science - Oxford

​Peter's primary research interests are in the fields of solid state chemistry and electrochemistry; particularly solid state ionics, which embraces ionically conducting solids and intercalation compounds.

Peter is the Principal Investigator for the project.


Project Leader

Prof. Mauro Pasta

Mauro is an Associate Professor in the Department of Materials at the University of Oxford. Mauro's research interests lie in electrochemical energy storage and conversion, with an emphasis on:

  1. Energy storage: Li and Na-ion batteries, grid-scale energy storage.

  2. Energy conversion: power from salinity gradients (blue energy), seawater desalination and delithiation.

  3. Electrocatalysis: organic molecules electroxidation, ORR and HER reactions, carbon dioxide sequestration and electroreduction.

Mauro leads the coordination of the project across the four work packages.

Charles Monroe.jpg

Work Package Leader (WP1)

Prof. Charles Monroe

Charles is an Associate Professor in the Department of Engineering at the University of Oxford, whose interest focusses on the development and modeling of electrochemical devices for energy storage and conversion. Charles is primarily interested in batteries and fuel cells, which his research group explores through both theoretical and experimental routes.

Charles leads work package one of the project, Plating and stripping Li or Na at the alkali metal anode||solid electrolyte interface.


Work Package Leader (WP2)

Prof. Laurence Hardwick

Laurence Hardwick is Professor of Electrochemistry and Director of the Stephenson Institute for Renewable Energy within the Department of Chemistry at the University of Liverpool. He received his MChem in Chemistry in 2003 from the University of Southampton and PhD in Chemistry from ETH-Zurich in 2006. Before joining Liverpool in 2011, he spent his postdoctoral time working at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and at the University of St Andrews investigating Li-ion battery electrode degradation mechanisms, lithium diffusion pathways through carbon and the chemical and electrochemical processes in Li-air cells.

Laurence leads work package two of the project, Ceramic-ceramic contact at the solid electrolyte||cathode interface.


Work Package Leader (WP3)

Prof Matthew Rosseinsky

Matthew Rosseinsky obtained a degree and a D. Phil in Chemistry from the University of Oxford in 1990. He was a Postdoctoral Member of Technical Staff at A.T.&T. Bell Laboratories then in 1992 was appointed University Lecturer in Chemistry at the University of Oxford. In 1999 he moved to the University of Liverpool as Professor of Inorganic Chemistry. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2008, and was awarded the Hughes Medal of the Royal Society in 2011. In 2013 he became a Royal Society Research Professor. He was awarded the inaugural de Gennes Prize for Materials Chemistry (a lifetime achievement award open internationally) by the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2009, the C.N.R. Rao Award of the Chemical Research Society of India in 2010 and gave the Muetterties Lectures at UC Berkeley and Lee Lectures at the University of Chicago in 2017. He was awarded the Davy Medal of the Royal Society in 2017.


He is currently a member of the governing Council of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council. His work addresses the synthesis of new functional materials in bulk and thin film form for energy and information storage applications, and has been characterised by extensive collaboration with many academic and industrial colleagues. Current areas of interest include materials for batteries and solid oxide fuel cells, multiferroics, thermoelectrics, superconductivity, materials for separations and catalysis, high-throughput materials discovery, and materials for solar energy conversion. His group is developing an integrated computational and experimental approach to materials discovery, including new tools for crystal structure prediction.


Work Package Leader (WP4)

Prof. Patrick Grant

Patrick is Head of the Department of Materials at Oxford University. Patrick's research takes place at the interface between advanced materials and manufacturing, and concerns a wide range of structural and functional materials. Current applications include structured porous electrodes for supercapacitors and batteries, 3D printed materials with spatially varying electromagnetic properties for microwave devices, and advanced metallics for power generation. Recent work has also concerned X-ray imaging of microstructural evolution, especially of solidifying alloys.

Patrick leads work package four of the project, Integration of solid state electrolytes in full cell architectures.